BERA ECR Award 2019

After returning from China, I had a busy summer preparing for a new role at Salford, and also planning a presentation for the British Educational Research Association (BERA) conference. At the conference, I presented research by myself and Professor Alan Williams from earlier this year. The project took place at a local primary school, with two classes from key stages 1 and 2 using my app Paynter to write music for a group of players from the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, who then performed in concert with the pupils. A video by the press office can be seen here.

It was announced this week that the presentation won the BERA Early Career Research Award 2019. The BERA Conference was an outstanding forum for educational research, with many diverse networks, interesting discussions and openness to new approaches. I’m really honoured to receive this award, and we are now planning a follow up to this project, so I’ll be submitting an abstract to BERA 2020. Details of the award can be found here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment